Explore the 2024 Program

Kathy Shand and Kate Dundas Lead Sydney Writers' Festival Board

Sydney Writers’ Festival is delighted to announce that Kathy Shand has been appointed Chair of Sydney Writers’ Festival. Shand has served nine years on the Board, the last two as Deputy Chair, and is well known for her publishing, literary, community and philanthropic work

On her appointment as Chair, Shand said, "I am truly honoured to be elected Chair of the Sydney Writers’ Festival. It is one of Sydney's great cultural events and one that has gained an international reputation, a tribute to all who have been involved since the first Festival was held in 1991. The past few years have made us all think about how important the arts are to us".

I am looking forward to working with the Board and CEO Brooke Webb to present an exciting program to Sydney audiences with authors and writers at all stages of their careers from across Australia and around the world.
Kathy Shand

Shand takes over the position of Chair from Mark Scott AO, who has stepped down after dedicating seven years of service to the Sydney Writers’ Festival Board and serving two terms leading as Festival Chair.

Mark Scott has been an incredible Chair steering the Festival through very difficult times. His leadership and experience have been invaluable to the Board and to me personally.
Kathy Shand

"This will be Ann Mossop’s first program for Sydney Writers' Festival and she is going to present a program that will reflect her years of experience working in the arts and will create a buzz and much excitement at the Festival hub in Carriageworks and venues across Sydney. Our loyal audiences are going to be thrilled as will those who will be coming to their first Festival” – Kathy Shand.

Kate Dundas is the Festival’s newly appointed Deputy Chair, she is a Sydney Festival Board Director and Deputy Chair of Australia for UNHCR.  

Dr Julianne Schultz joins as a Board Director, she is Professor Emeritus of Media and Culture at Griffith University, and an accomplished editor and author. 

Other Sydney Writers’ Festival Board members include Annabel Crabb, Michael Dagostino, Sheila McGregor and Su-Ming Wong. 

For media inquiries, please contact Benython Oldfield via benython@zeitgeistmediagroup.com

Continue reading...