Explore the 2024 Program

SMH Best Young Novelists

Award-winning emerging novelists

Friday 24 May 2024
Event Code: 72
Each year, The Sydney Morning Herald names the authors it considers to be the best young fiction writers in the country.

In the 28th year of the prestigious awards, Melanie Kembrey, editor of Spectrum, leads a discussion with this year's winners about their works and writing processes. A must-see event for emerging writers and supporters of Australian literature.

Previous SMH Best Young Australian Novelist winners include Gillian Mears, Christos Tsiolkas, Hannah Kent and Elliot Perlman.

Presented in partnership with The Sydney Morning Herald.

Carriageworks, Bay 24
245 Wilson Street, Eveleigh, NSW, 2015