Explore the 2024 Program

Patrick White Playwrights Award Reading

Be the first to hear a brand new award-winning play

Find Tickets
Join Sydney Theatre Company Artistic Director Kip Williams as he announces the winners of the Patrick White Playwrights Award. Grab a drink and settle into a reading of the award-winning play on the night.

Every year Sydney Theatre Company receives hundreds of entries for the Patrick White Playwrights Award – a $7,500 prize for an unproduced play that is artistically ambitious and has a distinct theatrical voice.

The Award was established in 2000 to foster the development of Australian playwrights. Previous winners have included Anna Barnes (SBS’ Safe Home), Angus Cerini (The Bleeding Tree) and Wesley Enoch (The Story of the Miracles at Cookie’s Table).
The Theatre Bar at the End of the Wharf
Sydney Theatre Company, Pier 4/5 Hickson Rd, The Rocks, NSW, 2000