Hear two celebrated Australian writers discuss their heart-rending and lyrically drawn new novels. Miles Franklin Award winner Sofie Laguna talks about Infinite Splendours, an incandescent tale of art, nature and the lasting impact of childhood trauma. Globally bestselling author Nikki Gemmell offers insights into The Ripping Tree, her powerful novel of survival that examines the dark heart of early colonisation in characteristically evocative prose. The two appear on stage in conversation with Nicole Abadee.

Sofie Laguna (Australian)

Sofie Laguna

Sofie’s second novel for adults, The Eye of the Sheep, won the 2015 Miles Franklin Award. It was also longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin International Book Award and shortlisted for the Stella Prize. Sofie’s first novel for adults, One Foot Wrong (published throughout Europe, the US and the UK), was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award and shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Award. Sofie’s third novel, The Choke, won Best Novel in the 2018 Indie Awards and was shortlisted for numerous others. Sofie’s new novel, Infinite Splendours, has recently been released to critical acclaim.

Nikki Gemmell (Australian)

Nikki Gemmell

Nikki Gemmell is known as one of Australia’s most provocative and honest writers. She’s the bestselling author of some 20 books, including Shiver, The Bride Stripped Bare and After. Her latest novel is The Ripping Tree. Her exploration of love and female creativity, Dissolve, will be published later this year. Nikki writes a popular and often controversial column in The Weekend Australian Magazine. She was born in Wollongong and her books have been translated into 22 languages.

Nicole Abadee (Australian)

Nicole Abadee

Nicole Abadee writes about books for Good Weekend and Australian Book Review and appears regularly as a moderator at writers’ festivals and other literary events. Nicole has a books podcast, Books, Books, Books in which she talks to international and Australian writers about their latest books, and is also a judge for the 2021 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction.