Lee Tran Lam and Sam van Zweden write about food in ways you’ve never seen before. Creator and host of popular food podcast The Unbearable Lightness of Being Hungry, Lee Tran is the editor of Diversity in Food Media’s anthology New Voices on Food, which encapsulates the incredible voices in Australian food writing. Sam’s new collection of personal essays Eating With My Mouth Open celebrates food and all the bodies it nurtures, while exploring its relationship with complex topics such as mental illness and weight. Lee Tran and Sam speak with publisher Robert Watkins about their new books and what we’re really talking about when we talk about food.

Sam van Zweden (Australian)

Sam van Zweden

Sam van Zweden is a Melbourne-based writer interested in memory, food, mental health and the body. Her writing has been published by The Saturday Paper, ABC Life, Meanjin, The Big Issue, The Lifted Brow, Cordite, The Sydney Review of Books, The Wheeler Centre and others. Her book, Eating with my Mouth Open, won the 2019 KYD Unpublished Manuscript Award and was published by NewSouth Pubilshing in February 2021.

Lee Tran Lam (Australian)

Lee Tran Lam

Lee Tran Lam is the editor of New Voices On Food, a Diversity In Food Media anthology showcasing under-represented Australian talent. Concrete Playground called it one of the best books of 2020. Lee Tran is also a freelance journalist with work appearing in Good Food, Gourmet Traveller and SBS Food. Lam hosts The Unbearable Lightness of Being Hungry podcast, presents Local Fidelity on FBi radio and has a sandwich named after her which Time Out called one of Sydney's best toasties.

Robert Watkins (Australian)

Robert Watkins

Publishing Director of Ultimo Press, Robert Watkins, has over 20 years experience in the Australian book industry having worked in book retail, sales, marketing, publicity, publishing and most recently as Head of Literary at Hachette Australia. His love for a good story well told has led to publishing some of Australia's most acclaimed contemporary authors, Maxine Beneba Clarke, Claire G. Coleman, Dr Michael Mohammed Ahmad, Sarah Schmidt and Peter Polites, to name just a few.