Join 2021 Stella Prize winner Evie Wyld (appearing live via video) in this special live conversation with Bri Lee. 

Evie's prize-winning novel, The Bass Rockweaves together the lives of three women across four centuries. It explores the legacy of male violence and the ways in which these traumas ripple and reverberate across time and place. Each woman’s choices are circumscribed, in ways big and small, by the men in their lives. But together, there is the hope of survival and new life. 

Now in its ninth year, the Stella Prize is an indispensable fixture in Australia’s literary culture, driving book sales, sparking book clubs and uplifting the careers of women writers.

Presented in partnership with the Stella Prize.



Evie Wyld (Australian)

Evie Wyld

Evie Wyld grew up in Australia and the UK. She is part owner of Review, a small independent bookshop in London. Her first novel, After the Fire, A Still Small Voice, won the John Llewellyn Rhys Prize and a Betty Trask Award, and was shortlisted for the Orange Prize for New Writers, the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize and the International Dublin Literary Award. In 2013 she was listed as one of Granta’s Best of Young British Novelists. Evie’s second novel, All The Birds, Singing, won the 2014 Miles Franklin Award, the 2013 Encore Award, the Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize, was shortlisted for the Costa Novel Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, and longlisted for the 2014 Stella Prize and the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. Her graphic novel with illustrator Joe Sumner, Everything Is Teeth, was published in 2015. 

Bri Lee (Australian)

Bri Lee

Bri Lee is an award-winning author and freelance journalist. Her books are Eggshell Skull and Beauty, and her next book, Who Gets to be Smart, will be out in June 2021. Her writing has appeared in The Monthly, The Saturday Paper, The Guardian Australia, and elsewhere. She runs the monthly author talks program, ‘The B List Bookclub’ at the State Library of New South Wales.