Winners of the 2019 NSW Premier’s History Awards – Lyndall Ryan, Alison Lloyd, Dr Meredith Lake and others gather to reveal how and why they wrote their transformational histories. Each of their studies makes the familiar strange and challenges previous understandings of Australian history. The writers speak with host Nancy Cushing about their inspirations, their writing practice and the impact they hope their work will have.

Presented with the History Council of NSW.