In the year after Bob Hawke’s death in 2019, he has been commemorated in two significant books – one by his wife, Blanche d’Alpuget, and the other by his elder daughter, Sue Pieters-Hawke. Join them as they take to the Festival stage with ABC’s Laura Tingle to reflect on the former prime minister’s life and legacy. Blanche’s acclaimed Bob Hawke: The Complete Biography is the updated volume of her definitive portrait of the man on and off the political stage. Remembering Bob, instigated and edited by Sue, is a collection of stories and memories from his friends, colleagues, old political foes and ordinary Australians.

Blanche d’Alpuget (Australian)

Blanche d’Alpuget

Blanche d'Alpuget is the acclaimed author of biographies, novels and essays. Her bestselling 1982 classic, Robert J. Hawke: A Biography, won the New South Wales Premier’s Award and remains one of the finest examples of political biographies in Australia. The second edition of the book was republished as Hawke: The Early Years, and d’Alpuget continued the story in Hawke: The Prime Minister in 2010. To mark the late prime minister’s extraordinary life and legacy, Blanche combined the two books for the first time in an updated and revised commemorative edition, Bob Hawke: The Complete Biography, a definitive portrait of the man, on and off the political stage. Blanche’s other non fiction works include Mediator: A Biography of Sir Richard Kirby, which was published to critical acclaim in 1977 and is still used as a university text in the study of industrial relations. Her novels Monkeys in the Dark, Turtle Beach, Winter in Jerusalem and White Eye won a host of literary prizes, including the PEN Golden Jubilee Award, The Age Novel of the Year Award, the South Australian Premier’s Award and the inaugural Australasian Prize for Commonwealth Literature. She is also the author of the Birth of the Plantagenets series: The Young Lion, The Lion Rampant, The Lions’ Torment, The Lioness Wakes and The Cubs Roar.

Sue Pieters-Hawke (Australian)

Sue Pieters-Hawke

Sue Pieters-Hawke is Bob Hawke's elder daughter. She's the author of the bestselling books: Hazel's Journey: A personal experience of Alzheimer's, and Hazel: My Mother's Story. Remembering Bob is a collection of stories and memories about Bob by his friends, colleagues, old political foes, and ordinary Australians whose paths crossed that of their everyman prime minister.

Laura Tingle (Australian)

Laura Tingle

Laura Tingle is a journalist, essayist and author who has reported on Australian politics and policy for more than 35 years. In 2018, she joined the Australian Broadcasting Corporation as chief political correspondent for its flagship current affairs program 7.30, after 16 years with The Australian Financial Review where she was political editor, and previously, senior reporting positions with other major Australian mastheads. A multi-award winning journalist, she is the author of Chasing the Future - a book about the early 1990s. An assembly of her essays, In Search of Good Government, was published in 2017. She also regularly appears on Insiders on ABC TV and Late Night Live on ABC Radio. Her new Quarterly Essay is scheduled for release later this year.