Wit is a weapon in the hands of Michelle de Kretser (The Life to Come), Josephine Wilson (Extinctions) and Craig Sherborne (Off the Record), three esteemed novelists whose scalpel-sharp observations show us the charm, cruelty and absurdity of our contemporary world. The trio talk with author Charlotte Wood about how sly humour reveals uncomfortable truths about how we live today.

Curated by Charlotte Wood.

Craig Sherborne (Australian)

Sherborne, Craig.jpg

Craig Sherborne's latest novel, Off the Record, is a satire about tabloid media. He is the author of award-winning memoirs Hoi Polloi and Muck. His first novel, The Amateur Science of Love, won the Melbourne Prize for Literature's Best Writing Award, and was shortlisted for a Victorian Premier's Literary Award and a NSW Premier's Literary Award. His second novel, Tree Palace, was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award. Craig lives outside Melbourne.

Michelle de Kretser (Australian)

de Kretser, Michelle.JPG

Michelle de Kretser was born in Sri Lanka and lives in Sydney. She is the author of five novels, the most recent of which is The Life to Come. Her previous novel, Questions of Travel, won the Miles Franklin Award. Michelle's fiction is published across the world and has won numerous awards.

Josephine Wilson (Australian)

Wilson, Josephine c Peter Marko.jpg

Josephine Wilson is a Perth-based writer whose career began in the area of performance. Her first novel, Cusp, was published by UWA Press in 2005. Josephine's second novel, Extinctions, was the winner of the inaugural Dorothy Hewett Award for an Unpublished Manuscript. It won the 2017 Miles Franklin Literary Award, the Colin Roderick Award, and was shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction. Josephine has lectured and taught in the tertiary sector.

Charlotte Wood (Australian)

Wood, Charlotte c Wendy McDougall.jpg

Charlotte Wood is the author of five novels and two books of non-fiction. The Natural Way of Things won the 2016 Stella Prize and Indie Book of the Year, and was joint winner of the Prime Minister's Literary Award for Fiction.