A two-time winner of the Miles Franklin Award, Kim Scott is widely regarded as one of Australia’s most important and exciting novelists. His latest book, Taboo, tells the story of a group of Noongar people who revisit a taboo place for the first time in many decades. Kim appears in conversation with poet and critic Caitlin Maling, exploring his work and that special writerly magic that seems to come from Western Australia.

Presented with Varuna, the National Writers’ House.

Kim Scott (Australian)

Scott, Kim.jpg

Kim Scott grew up on the south coast of Western Australia. He is proud to be one among those who call themselves Noongar. His second novel, Benang: From the Heart, won the 1999 Western Australian Premier's Book Award, the 2000 Miles Franklin Literary Award and the 2001 Kate Challis RAKA Award. His third novel, That Deadman Dance, also won the Miles Franklin Literary Award in 2011, the Commonwealth Writers' Prize and the Western Australian Premier's Book Award. His most recent book is Taboo. Kim is currently Professor of Writing at the School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts, Curtin University.

Caitlin Maling (Australian)

Maling, Caitlin.jpg

Caitlin Maling is a WA poet with two books out through Fremantle Press and a third forthcoming in 2019. She has been shortlisted for the WA Premier’s Book Awards, the Dame Mary Gilmore Award, the Newcastle Poetry Prize and the Judith Wright Poetry Prize. Currently she holds the Marten Bequest in poetry and is pursuing a PhD in comparative ecopoetics at the University of Sydney. Caitlin is a member of the Varuna alumni.