Some of Australia’s finest crime writers discuss the art of suspense. Tom Keneally and Meg Keneally are behind the Monsarrat series, where historical fiction meets crime. Bestselling writer Candice Fox has delivered again with her latest, Crimson Lake. Melina Marchetta turned her hand to crime fiction after building a career as one of Australia’s best-loved Young Adult authors. With Giulia De Biase, these acclaimed crime writers will shed light on writing about the shadowy world of crime. 

Thomas Keneally (Australian)

Keneally, Tom c Penguin Random House.jpg

Tom Keneally won the Booker Prize in 1982 with Schindler's Ark, later made into the Steven Spielberg Academy Award-winning film Schindler's List. His non-fiction includes the memoir Searching For Schindler and Three Famines, an LA Times Book of the Year. His fiction includes Shame and the Captives and The Widow And Her Hero (shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award). His novels The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith, Gossip from the Forest, and Confederates were all shortlisted for the Booker Prize, while Bring Larks and Heroes and Three Cheers For The Paraclete won the Miles Franklin Award. The People's Train was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Award and shortlisted for the Commonwealth Writers Prize, South East Asia division. He is co-author with Meg Keneally of The Soldier’s Curse and The Unmourned, the first two books in The Monsarrat Series.

Candice Fox (Australian)

Fox, Candice.jpg

Hades, Candice Fox's first novel, won the Ned Kelly Award for best debut in 2014 from the Australian Crime Writers Association. The sequel, Eden, won the Ned Kelly Award for best crime novel in 2015, making Candice only the second author to win these accolades back-to-back.  Her third novel, Fall, was published to critical acclaim. In 2015 Candice began collaborating with James Patterson. Their first novel together, Never Never, set in the vast Australian outback, was released in August 2016. Candice and James have also co-written a prequel novella, Black & Blue. They are currently at work on their second full novel. Candice's latest book is Crimson Lake.

Melina Marchetta (Australian)

Marchetta, Melina c KIREN.jpg

Melina Marchetta is an award-winning author who has been published in over twenty countries. Melina has also written for film and television. In 2000 she adapted her classic novel, Looking For Alibrandi for film, and won a number of scriptwriting awards including an AFI and The NSW Premier's Literary Awards. Melina has also wrtten for the award-winning TV series, Dance Academy. Tell the Truth, Shame the Devil, is her first adult crime novel.

Meg Keneally (Australian)

Keneally, Meg c Penguin Random House.jpg

Meg Keneally started her working life at the Australian Consulate-General in New York, before moving to Dublin to work as a journalist. Back in Australia, she joined the Daily Telegraph, before moving to Radio 2UE. She co-founded a financial services public relations company, and has worked in corporate affairs. She doubles as a part-time scuba diving instructor. She is co-author with Tom Keneally of The Soldier’s Curse and The Unmourned, the first two books in the Monsarrat series.

Giulia De Biase (International)

De Biase, Giulia.jpg

Giulia De Biase is the fiction editor at the Italian publishing house Piemme Edizioni, an imprint of the Mondadori Group. She publishes approximately 35 titles per year, with a strong focus on crime, thriller and suspense.