Ian Rankin is a bestselling, award-winning crime writer, known for his Inspector Rebus novels, which have been translated into 22 languages. His most recent novel, Rather Be the Devil, is the 21st instalment of the series. Publishers Weekly said, ‘With its trademark blend of sharp wit and even sharper police work, this entry is yet another example of why Ian remains in the top echelon of Scottish crime writers’. Ian discusses his work and art with crime writer Candice Fox.

Supported by the City of Parramatta.

Ian Rankin (International)

Rankin, Ian.jpg

Ian Rankin is the bestselling author of the Inspector Rebus and Detective Malcolm Fox novels, as well as a string of standalone thrillers. His most recent book - the twenty-first instalment of the Rebus series - is Rather Be the Devil. His books have been translated into 36 languages and are bestsellers on several continents. He is the recipient of numerous international awards for crime writing and has been awarded honorary degrees from the universities of Abertay, St Andrews, Hull and Edinburgh. He has received the OBE for services to literature, is a fellow of the Royal Society of Edinburgh and in 2017 will become a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature.

Candice Fox (Australian)

Fox, Candice.jpg

Hades, Candice Fox's first novel, won the Ned Kelly Award for best debut in 2014 from the Australian Crime Writers Association. The sequel, Eden, won the Ned Kelly Award for best crime novel in 2015, making Candice only the second author to win these accolades back-to-back.  Her third novel, Fall, was published to critical acclaim. In 2015 Candice began collaborating with James Patterson. Their first novel together, Never Never, set in the vast Australian outback, was released in August 2016. Candice and James have also co-written a prequel novella, Black & Blue. They are currently at work on their second full novel. Candice's latest book is Crimson Lake.