This is a glittering celebration of excellence in Australian writing, held on the first night of the Sydney Writers’ Festival, with a keynote address by Wesley Enoch, renowned playwright and new Sydney Festival Director. Established in 1979, the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards have recognised hundreds of talented Australian writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights, scriptwriters and authors of non-fiction and children’s books. In 2016, the inaugural Indigenous Writer’s Prize of $30,000 will be presented. With prizes totalling $305,000, the awards are among the nation’s richest and most prestigious.