In the digital era where "snackable" content reigns supreme, some stories still require time and space. Join long-time contributor to The New Yorker and The Atlantic George Packer and award-winning author Don Watson for a wide-ranging conversation on the current state of long-form journalism. Covering everything from the history of the art form to its role in contemporary journalism, two of the form’s leading exponents discuss the power and the possibilities of deeply reported journalism. 

This podcast is available on all major podcast platforms. 

Our Man: Richard Holbrooke and the End of the American Century is available from Penguin (online) and your local independent bookstore. 

There It Is Again is available from Penguin (online) and your local independent bookstore. 

Stories Worth Telling is a series created by the Judith Neilson Institute for Journalism and Ideas and Sydney Writers’ Festival.



George Packer (American)

George Packer

George Packer is a staff writer for The Atlantic and the author of Our Man: Richard Holbrooke and the End of the American Century, which won the 2020 Los Angeles Times Book Award and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. He has published five other works of non-fiction – including The Unwinding: An Inner History of the New America, which won the National Book Award for nonfiction in 2013, and The Assassins’ Gate: America in Iraq, a Pulitzer finalist and winner of the Overseas Press Club Book Award and the New York Public Library Book Award in 2006 – as well as two novels and a play.

Don Watson (Australian)

Don Watson

Over the past 40 years Don Watson's articles, essays and reviews on politics, history and culture have appeared in most major Australian journals and newspapers. His books include the acclaimed bestsellers, Recollections of a Bleeding Heart (2002), Death Sentence (2003) and Watson’s Dictionary of Weasel Words (2004); American Journeys (2008), Bendable Learnings (2010), The Bush (2014), Worst Words (2015) and A Single Tree (2016). He wrote Enemy Within, a Quarterly Essay on the 2016 US Presidential Election. A collection of his essays, There It Is Again, was published in 2017. He has twice won The Age Book of the Year, in addition to the National Biography Award, the Courier-Mail Book of the Year, the Alfred Deakin Essay Prize, the Australian Literary Studies Association Book of the Year, a Walkley Award, the New South Wales Premier’s Award, the Queensland Literary Award, and the Independent Booksellers Book of the Year (twice). In 2011 Don Watson was awarded the Phillip Hodgins Medal for Australian Literature. His film writing includes The Man Who Sued God (starring Billy Connolly and Judy Davis) and Passion (Barbara Hershey and Richard Roxburgh). Don Watson is a regular writer for The Monthly.