This is an event from the May 2016 Festival.

Code: 242  |  Type: Panel   |  Genres: Fiction, Feminism

How do the experiences of women writers today differ from those who came before? The Stella Prize presents a discussion celebrating the impact and legacy of women’s voices, and looks at the current state of women’s writing in Australia. Ceridwen Dovey, Paddy O’Reilly and the 2016 Stella Prize winner Charlotte Wood discuss how their writing has been shaped over time by their gender, and ask what different generations of women writers might learn from and teach one another. Hosted by Delia Falconer.

Presented with the Stella Prize

Change from printed program: Charlotte Wood has been added to this event.

Sunday 22 May 2016 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM
Pier 4/5 The Waterfront, End of Pier 4/5, Walsh Bay

Ceridwen Dovey (Australian)

Ceridwen Dovey was born in South Africa and grew up between South Africa and Australia. She studied social anthropology at Harvard and New York University before returning to Sydney, where she now lives. Her debut novel, Blood Kin, was published in 15 countries, shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Award, and selected for the US National Book Foundation’s prestigious ‘5 Under 35’ honours list. Her second book, Only the Animals, won the inaugural 2014 Readings New Australian Writing Award and the Steele Rudd Award for a short story collection in the Queensland Literary Awards, and was shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Award for Fiction.

Paddy O’Reilly (Australian)

Paddy O’Reilly is the author of three novels (one as P.A. O’Reilly, The Fine Colour of Rust), a collection of award-winning short stories, The End of the World (UQP, 2007), and a novella. Her novels have been shortlisted for major awards and published in the US and UK, and her stories have been widely published, anthologised and broadcast in Australia and overseas. Peripheral Vision is her most recent book.

Charlotte Wood (Australian)

Charlotte Wood is the author of five novels and a book of non-fiction, and for three years was editor of The Writer's Room Interviews magazine. Her novel, Animal People, was longlisted for the Miles Franklin and shortlisted for the Christina Stead Prize for Fiction. The Australian has described her as ‘one of our most original and provocative writers.’ Her most recent book The Natural Way of Things will be published in the UK and US in 2016.

Delia Falconer (Australian)

Delia Falconer is the author of two novels, The Service of Clouds and The Lost Thoughts of Soldiers. Her 2010 nonfiction work, Sydney, a personal history of her home town, won the CAL Waverley Library Award for Literature and was shortlisted for other major national prizes including the New South Wales Premier's History and National Biography awards. She is a Senior Lecturer in Creative Writing at University of Technology, Sydney.



Sponsors and Partners Sydney Writers' Festival 2017